What Links to Rain?

It was raining this afternoon and there was a gloomy sense around the atmosphere for me.

I tend to link rain with sadness, emotions (the sad ones) and hopelessness. The skies darken and the rain’s pouring, bringing me back to the days of army. When I was out in the field (or as we call it ‘outfield’) the rain was one of our dreaded enemies. I always seemed to prefer the sun and the blazing heat rather than being soaked wet from head to toe in the rain.

The rain made the ground wet and slippery, the soil became muddy and sticky and disguisting, everything would be wet and cold; ultimately, a wet pair of socks and underwear just spells instant negative mood. And worst of all, things still continue as normal in the rain; I have to lie on the wet and muddy ground, doing maneuvers until my whole uniform becomes brown.

I still remember my first field camp being 5 days and 4 nights long which rained for 3 days. It was horrible to live in the rain without a shelter (or rather sometimes my shelter just got destroyed some way or another and sometimes i just don’t have one).

I’m really thankful that I’m at home in the shelter as it really is tough to live a life without a roof over your head. Would a roof over my head be something that I’ve taken for granted? I do think so, and many a times too.

 

 

Leave a Reply

